Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda


Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Van Mieu – Quoc Tu Giam

Van Mieu- Quoc Tu Giam is a famous histori-cal and cultural relicconsisting of the Temple of Literature in Hanoi and Viet Nams first university.

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Temple of Literature

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Temple of Literature

The Temple of Literature was built in 1070 in honour of Confucius, his follower, and Chu Van An, a moral figure in Vietnamese education.

Quoc Tu Giam, os Viet Nams first university was built in 1076. It was the first educational school for royal family members, and it was late opened to talented students. Throughout its more than 700 years of activity, thousands of Vietnamese scholars graduated from this unniversity. In 1482, Emperor Le Thanh Tong ordered the erection of stelae with inscriptions since 1442 to 1779. Presently 82 stelae stand at Van Mieu.

In 1483 Quoc Tu Giam was changed into Thai Hoc Vien (Higher Educational Institute). After decades of was and natural disasters, the former construction was completely destroyed. In Preparation for the celebration of the 1000th anniversary of Thang Long (Present hay Ha Noi) another construction has been built following the model of the previous Thai Hoc Vien on the same ground. The work started on july 13, 1999, including the front hall, the back sanctuary, lean-tos on the left and on the right, the courtyard, and subsidiary structures. Phase 1 was completed on October10, 2002, the day of celebration of the liberation of Ha Noi. As a result of an area of 1,530m2  has been put into use.

Kim Lien Pagoda

Kim Lien Pagoda was originally built on Nghi Tam peninsula, on the bank of West Lake. Today it is located in Quang An Village, Tay Ho District, Ha Noi.

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Kim Lien Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Kim Lien Pagoda

According to legend, during the 12th century (1128-1138), Princess Tu Hoa, Daughter of King Ly Nhan Tong, led her royal representa-tives to this area where they cultivated mulberries and reared silkworms. The pagoda was later built in 1631. Formerly, it has the name Dai Bi, Dong Long, and Tu Hoa. In 1771 Lord Trinh restored the pagoda and changed its name to Kim Lien (Golden Lotus) part of the fomer Tu Hoa Palace of the Ly Dynasty.

Kim Lien is composed of three pavilions, each of which has 2 roof layers and the appearance of being slightly curved and supple. Apart from its nice disposition, the pagoda has a gate of sophisticated and intricate architecture.

Quan Su Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Quan Su Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Quan Su Pagoda

Quan Su Pagoda, built in the 17th century, is located at 73 Quan Su Street (between Ly Thuong Kiet Street and Tran Hung Dao Street). The Northern Buddhist Association chose Quan Su Pagoda as its meeting hall in 1934. In 1942, the pagoda was restored to its actual state, and since 1958, the Viet Nam Buddhist Association has had its head office at the pagoda. The pagoda opens daily from 7.30am to 11.30am and 1.30pm to 5.30pm.

Quan Thanh Temple

The three ancient Chinese characters at the top of the entrance of Quan Thanh Temple read “Tran Vu Quan”, which means that the temple is dedicate to Huyen Thien Tran Vu, the God whho guarded and administered the north of the country. Saint Tran Vu was both a Vietnamese legendary character (who assisted Emperor An Duong Vuong in chasing away ghosts during the construction of Co Loa Citadel) and a Chinese lengendary chracter (who guarded and administered the North).

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Quan Thanh Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Quan Thanh Temple

Quan Thanh Temple was built during the reigh of Emperor Ly Thai To (1010-1028). Special attention should be paid to the black bronze statue of Saint Tran Vu, nearly 4m in heigh and 4 tons is weight, was cast in 1677 located in the main hall. Also noticeable, a 1.5m high ancient bronze bell hangs at the top of the three –gate entrance. In the temple, a small black bronze statue of Old Trong, the chief artisan of the bronze casting team who made the bell and the giant statue of Saint Tran Vu.

Hai Ba Trung Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Hai Ba Trung Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Hai Ba Trung Temple

This temple is also called Dong Nhan Temple because it is located in Dong Nhan Village in Hai Ba Trung District, 2km south of Hoan Kiem Lake. The temple was built in 1142, under the reign of Emperor Ly Anh Tong and was dedicated of the Trung Sisters, Trung Trac and Trung Nhi. Two statues made of clay are located at the inner sanctum of the temple.They are surrounded by statues of the 12 female generals who followed the two sisters in leading their army to defeat their aggres-sors. On the 15th and 6th days of the 2nd lunar month, there is a grand festival at the temple to commemorate the two national heroines.

One Pillar Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

One Pillar Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

One Pillar Pagoda

The original name of the One Pillar Pagoda was Dien Huu Pagoda, which literally means “long lasting happiness and good luck”. The pagoda is located in the western part of the city on Ong Ich Khiem St., near Ho Chi Minhs Mausoleum. It was first built in 1049, during the reign of Emperor Ly Thai Tong. According to legend, ageing Emperor Ly Thai Tong, who had no children, often went to dagodas to pray to Buddha for a son. One night, he dreamed that he was granted a private audience with Buddha. Buddha, who was seated on a lotus flower in a square-shaped lotus pond on the western side of Thang Long Citadel, gave the king a baby boy. Months later, when the queen gave birth to a male child, the Enperor ordered the construction of a pagoda supported by only one pillar to resemble the lotus seat of his dream in the honour of Buddha. The pagoda in open daily from 8am to 5pm, Entrance is free.

Tran Quoc Pagoda

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Tran Quoc Pagoda

Tran Quoc Pagoda

Tran Quoc Pagoda

Tran Quoc pagoda, located on an island in West Lake, is the one of the oldest pagodas in Viet Nam, its construction started on 541. Standing at one end of Thanh Nien Road, one can see the towers of the pagoda rising above the lakes surface, there ia a precious statue of Sakyamuni Buddha antering Nirvana, which is a masterpiece of Vietnamese sculptural art. A stele dating from 1639 tells the story of this pagoa. It is open daily.

Ho Tay Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Ho Tay Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Ho Tay Temple

Ho Tay was an ancient village of Thang Long, Locates to the east of West Lake. At the entrance of the village, there is a temple to worship Mother Lieu Hanh, who had an exquisite talent for playing music, singing, and writing poetry. Mother Lieu Hanh was so kind that she was raised as Thanh Mau (Saint Mother). Every year, on the 15th day of the 1st lunar month, many people come here, not only to worship Thanh Mau in the hope that she will offer them good things and good luck, but also to adrime the beautiful landscape of the capital city.

Ngoc Son Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Ngoc Son Temple

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda

Ngoc Son Temple

Hoan Kiem Lake was already considered the most beautiful lake in the city when Ngoc Son Temple was built on Ngoc (Jade) Island, in the northern part of the lake during the 19th century. It was dedicated to Van Xuong, once considered as the brightest star in Vietnamese literary and intellectural circles, and Tran Hung Dao, the national hero who lad the Vietnamese people to victory over Mongol aggressors in the 13th century.

Ha Noi Temple and Pagoda Article Tags :