Hanoi Tourist Attractions


Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Citadel

The magnificent, imposing Hanoi Citadel has stood the test of time over 8 centuries in the land of Thang Long (present-day Hanoi). In the Ly Dynasty (1009-1225), the Thang Long (Hanoi) Citadel was built as replacement for Dai La Citadel. During the dynasties of the Tran (1225-1400) and the Le (1428-1788), the Thang Long citadel underwent some reparirs. Under the Nguyen Dynasty, Phu Xuan (Hue) was made the capital of the country and the Hanoi Citadel only served as the seat of the General Governor of the North. Therefore, is size was reduced.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Citadel

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Citadel

The ancient Hanoi Citadel had three encircling walls. Within the inner wall as Tu Cam Thanh (The Purple Forbidden Citadel) where the King and his family lived. This Citadel had been called differently through various dynasties: Cung Thanh in the Ly Dynasty Long Phuong in the Tran and Cam Thanh (the Forbidden Citadel) in the Le. Doan Mon functioned as the only gate connecting the Purpole Forbidden Citadel with Hoang Thanh (the Royal Citadel).

Bac Mon (The Northern Gate)

Bac Mon was the only gate of Hoang Thanh that has been preserved almost  intact since the Nguyen Dynasty. It used to link Hoang Thanh and Kinh Thanh, which were once separated by a 20m wide ditch.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Bac Mon (The Northern Gate)

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Bac Mon (The Northern Gate)

The finishing touches have been put to the restoration of Bac Mon. Its new wooden door, 16 tons in weight, spreads over 24m2, running on bronze wheels  weighing some 80kg. However, the two holes caused by the cannonballs from a French war ship on 25 April 1873 in its outside wall still remain.

Hau Lau (the Back Pavilion) lied behind, or to the north of Hanh Cung, the main group of architectural constructions in the Hanoi Citadel. According to fengshui (geomancy), the Pavilion would stand guard over the orth of Hanh Cung, hence its another name Tinh Bac Lau. Legend has it that whenever the King went on long trips of inspection; his princess would make a stopover at the Pavilion.

Doan Mon

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Doan Mon

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Doan Mon

Doan Mon is the original name of this three-entrane Gate. The main entrance was reserved for the King. Above Doan Mon lied a watchtower built of stone and bricks. The restoration of the Gate was finished n October 2001.

Flag Tower

Built in under the Reign of King Gia Long, the Flag Tower is one of the few constructions int he Ha Noi Citadel, which have survived almost intact. It now lies within the History Military Museum Compound.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Flag Tower in Hanoi

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Flag Tower in Hanoi

The Flag Tower consist of three layers of bases and one tower. The pyramid-shaped bases are tiled with bricks. The first layer is 170m in perimeter and 3.1m in height. It has two brick staircases.

Each side of the second storey is 27m long and 3.7m high. There are four doors at this lever. On the eastern-looking one, “reflec-tion of light”, and on the southern-looking one, “looking door has no old chinese characters.

Each side of the third storey is 12.8m long and 5.1m high. The Door leads to the staircase that turns to the north. The body of the flag tower lies on this storey. It is an eigh-sides cylinder. Getting narrower as it reacher the height of 18.2m. Each base side of the cylinder is 2m in length. Inside of it is a 54-step spiral staircase leading to the top. For ventilation and light, there are four of the eight sides.On the highest location of each side is a sector-shaped hole.

Old Quater

The Old Quater is located north oa Hoan Kiem Lake. In the past, each street used to be dedicated to one commercial activity. That ia why a lot of streets name begin with the word Hang, meaning merchandise, followed bu a word indicating a product of profession. For example, Hang Dao (Peach St.) of hang Duong (Sugar St.).

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Old Quater

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Old Quater

Closes to Dong Xuan Market is Hang Ma (Paper St.) where traditional votive products made of coloured paper are sold. Every year, on the occasion of the Mid-Autumn Festival (15th day of the 8th lunar month), Hang Ma St. Turns into a toy market. Another very typical street is Hang Thiec (tin products), where the deafening sound of hammers striking tin plates can be heard all day long.

Ma May Ancient House

Located at 87 Ma May Street, north of Hoan Kiem Lake in the Old Quater, the delightfull house is worth visiting. It is one of rase ancient house still preserved in Ha Noi.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ma May Ancient House

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ma May Ancient House

The house was built at the end of the 19th century according to the structure of traditional house. There ia a small yard between building to have wind and light. The ground floor (facing street) used to selling goods, and the inner used for living and producing, and at the end is kitchen and toilet. On the second floor, the room – facing street used for worsshipping and receiving guests, and the inside room used for bedrooms. After restora-tion many times, the house still kept old architecture decorations of Ha Noi.

The house ia open from Monday to Friday, from 9am to 11:30am and from 2 to 5pm.

Dong Xuan Market

Among tens os market in the capital, such as Mo, Hom, Cua Nam or Ngoc ha, Dong Xuan is the biggest. Is was founded in 1889 in the Dong Xuan Quater.At first, it was an open-air mar-ket, but it was later rebuilt with five iron arches and a roof made of zinc-coated iron sheets.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Dong Xuan Market

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Dong Xuan Market

Locates near the railway station, at the beginning of Long Bien Bridge, by the Red River, Dong Xuan Market is a convenient place for goods from everywhere to converge. At this market, you can find almost any everyday goods. Dong Xuan Market is also the biggest wholesale market in the North. Today, although it has been expanded and spacious floors, it has still kept its original facade architecture.

Hanoi Cathedral

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Cathedral

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Hanoi Cathedral

Hanoi Cathedral, also known as Saint Josephs Cathedral, was inaugurated on Christmas Day, 1887, after two years of construction. It was built on the site of the former Bao Thien Tower, which was famous in the ancient capital of Thang Long under the Ly Dynasty (11th and 12th Centuries). It s design is inspired by the architecture of the Notre-Dame Cathedral in Paris.

Ha Noi Opera House

The construction of the Ha Noi Opera House was started in 1901 and com-pleted in 1911. It was modeled on was on the style of Paris Opera. It is the first opera house in Ha Noi that was built on a large scale and bears the architectural styles of modern European opera houses.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ha Noi Opera House

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ha Noi Opera House

The house is 87m long and 30m wide. The audience s room is about 566m2 and holds more than 900 seats. The ceiling is 30m high and in typically Greek style. The second floor house many small compartments. The first and second floor has a balcony in the front and two staircases, which are very convenient for going upstars and downstairs. Behind the stage are working rooms, make-up rooms, the rehearsal room and the meeting hall.

Ba Dinh Square

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ba Dinh Square

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Ba Dinh Square

Ba Dinh Square ia a huge plaza composed of 240 square of grass coveing an area of 32.000m2. On the west side of the esplanade is Prisident Ho Chi Minh Stilt House are located.

President Ho Chi Minhs Mausoleum

After two years of construction,  President Ho Chi Minhs Mausoleum was offcially inaugu-rated on 29 August 1975. This project was the result of a close collaboration between engineers from Viet Nam and the fomer Soviet Union in oder to keep the remains of President Ho Chi Minh. A great patriot who was later conferred the title of “World Cultural Activist” in 1990 on the occasion of his centenary birthday.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

President Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

President Ho Chi Minh’s Mausoleum

The mausoleum ia divided into three floors. The first floor is a terraced stand excusively used for grand meeting orrganised at Ba Dinh Square. The secon floor ia the centre of the mausoleum, where the remains of the president are kept in a chamber, accessible through a series of Tower (pen-shapped tower), The Huc Bridge connecting with Ngoc Son Temple.

West Lake (Ho Tay)

West Lake and Truc Bach Lake are an attactive part of the city. The two lakes are separated by Thanh Nien Road, which is almost one kilometre long. It is bordered by rows of willow and bang lang trees and is a favourite of young lovers.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

West Lake (Ho Tay)

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

West Lake (Ho Tay)

West Lake, also called Ho Tay, is the biggest lake in Ha Noi. Covering an area of 500ha in Tay Ho District, West Lake was created when the Red (Hong) River overflowed.

Truc Bach Lake

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Truc Bach Lake

Hanoi Tourist Attractions

Truc Bach Lake

Truc Bach Lake is separated from West Lake bu Thanh Nien Road. In the 18th century, Lord Trinh Giang built a resort palace near the lake, called Truc Lam Institute. Late on, this institute became a palace for banishing guilty ladies-in-waiting, who then had to weave silk cloth to support themselves. Their silk was very beautiful and famous all over the capital. The village was named Truc Silk Village, which is why the lake was called Truc Bach Lake.

Hanoi Tourist Attractions Article Tags :